ANNOUNCEMENT: NaNoWriMo 2015

BEEP! BEEP! ANNOUNCEMENT! 

*muffled announcer intercom voice* Guess what? This writer is officially going to be participating in NaNoWriMo 2k15!

What’s NaNoWriMo? It stands for National Novel Writing Month, which runs all throughout November! There’s a project that runs in conjunction with the National Novel Writing Month (shortened to NaNoWriMo) that challenges writers to reach a certain word goal in 30 days. It’s a fun, people-based assignment that serves to encourage and inspire writers everywhere.

Whereas the regular version is set at completing a 50,000 word goal, the Young Writer’s NaNo Program (the one I’m participating in) offers a personalized goal-plan. I’m vying for 30,000 words, which is the starting goal for young writers.

I’ve wanted to participate in NaNoWriMo many times before, but I was too scared that I would fail to reach my goal and would be angry at myself. This year, several of my writer friends encouraged me to take a recent idea and just go for it! I agreed, signed up for NaNo, and now I eagerly wait for November to arrive, bringing an action-packed 30 days and a half-developed plot with it.

If you want to check out my work with NaNoWriMo, go to the NaNoWriMo Young Writer’s Program Site. My username is Ash Finn, after two main characters in my new novel, so feel free to check out my bio. Here’s the summary I provide on the site for my new novel, “Prisoner”:

Finn’s destiny was chosen for him. The future crimes of a rich child were projected onto him when he was born, and he’s been imprisoned with all of the other poor children as the government’s way of trying to seclude and eliminate all crime. Finn’s watched the other inmates. They’re taken away at the age of eighteen…and they don’t come back. Finn turns eighteen in a week, and he’s not about to let the same mysterious fate befall him as it did the others. But escaping that outcome means also escaping the prison – and changing the course that was set for him.

I have a feeling that the first part of the plot will change radically, because it’s got a lot of loose strings, but this novel is kind of sci-fi and dystopian — definitely out of my comfort zone. We’ll see what happens!

Every Monday in November, I’ll post an update on my NaNo progress. I hope y’all will stick with me and follow along, and as always, keep commenting! I love hearing from you.

How about you? Have you ever done NaNo before? How did it go? Are you doing NaNo this year? Do tell!

Leave a Reply

