NaNoWriMonday: Getting Started

Hey! Sorry for the long absence, but life’s been pretty busy lately. But never mind that: NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) started yesterday! If you were here when I decided to do NaNo, you might remember that I’m writing a dystopian novel in 30 days. I’m aiming to get 30,000 words by the end of the month, which comes out to writing 1,000 words per day.

Every Monday in November, I’ll be hosting NaNoWriMondays (get it? NaNoWriMo? Mo? Mondays?). That means that every Monday, I’ll give you my current word count, and I’ll talk about how my story is progressing and what I’m learning about writing so much in such a short amount of time.

Today, you get to witness the first ever NaNoWriMonday (lucky you).

My word count: 1,000

I won’t have time today to write another 1,000 words to bump this up to 2,000 , but I’ll definitely try to get at least 1,500 words written on Tuesday and Wednesday to make up for it.

What have I learned so far? Well, it’s only the second day of NaNo, so not a lot has happened yet. However, it felt good to accomplish that much writing in a day (even if I did get kinda lost near the end). I’m excited to start Finn’s story, and to discover his voice and speaking style. Ash already has my heart, the little cutie.

Basically. this is gonna be a difficult journey, but I’m ready for whatever’s ahead.

Are you doing NaNo? How is it going so far? What’s your word goal? What is your story idea? Do tell!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMonday: Getting Started

  1. I was actually starting to wonder where you were! 🙂 It’s good to know that you’ve gotten off to a good start, I hope you can pick up your momentum and keep it.
    I don’t use this month to start something new (I have too many projects as is!), instead I use it to push myself to finish the projects I’ve already got started. Hopefully this festive atmosphere will give me the inspiration I need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

