The Bookshelf Tour Tag

BookshelfTag

The day I got a bookshelf for my room was a great day. It was a spiffy piece of shelved wood that would house all of the many books I called my own. Nowadays, it’s a much more cluttered bookshelf, with some books having to reside on top of others because they no longer fit side-to-side, but it’s no less beautiful. I love my bookshelf.

Back when I was still struggling with whether to continue my blog or not, my friend Maggie from Maggie’s Musings tagged me in the Bookshelf Tour Tag, and I knew it would be something that I would enjoy participating in, since it highlights my well-used bookshelf and its papered contents. It’s pretty simple: I provide books from my personal bookshelf that fit each description. You’ll see what I mean once we get into it.

1. A Short But Powerful Book

The Giver by Lois Lowry isn’t very long (it stands at only 225 pages!), but it is one of the most insightful, thought-provoking books that I have ever read. It centers on a world that no longer experiences war, famine, hatred, and crime – but its people also do not feel joy, compassion…or love. I first read this book right before its movie counterpart came out on DVD, because the movie looked interesting, but I usually like reading the book before the movie. I was astonished by how Lowry so effectively tackles hard questions about love, loss, and what it means to be human in such a small novel. The movie does a great job of posing the same questions, so I’d encourage you to check out both.

2. A Good, Long Book

At around 436 pages, The Wind, The Road, and The Way by Jenny L. Cote isn’t the longest book I own, but it’s hefty in its own right. It’s part of two great book series, The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz and its sequel series, Epic Order of the Seven. Cote’s books are always informative and captivating, and The Wind wasn’t an exception. What’s even more exciting is that I’ve recently been chosen as an advance reader for Cote’s newest book, The Voice, The Revolution, and The Key! I’ll definitely be chronicling the journey on this blog, so stay tuned!

3. Favorite Classic (on your bookshelf)

5160gdxt47l-_sx304_bo1204203200_The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde is, hands down, my most favorite play of all time. I fell in love with the witty script when I read it for Honors English in 11th grade, and after I had to return my manuscript to my school at the end of the year, I searched everywhere for a copy to add to my bookshelf. No matter what online store or physical bookstore I looked at, not a single one had it. However, my mom searched as well and bought me a copy for Easter last year! I’m so thankful to finally own it, and it remains an amazing classic.

4. A Relatively Obscure Book

I don’t know if “obscure” is the best word for it, but The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen definitely doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. The sarcastic, sharp-tongued narration of Sage, the protagonist, is unique and amusing, and the novel’s fast-paced intrigue never stops. Pair that with a huge plot twist, and you get a great book worthy of being talked about.

5. An Underrated Book

Although The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton is pretty famous, I don’t hear it talked about as much as it should be. It’s the incredible and heart-breaking story81bzuga-bhl of the members of a small “greaser” gang, most specifically the protagonist, Ponyboy, and his friend Johnny. The character development and story arc is absolute perfection, and might I add, the 50th Anniversary Edition that I own has a gorgeous cover.

6. An Overrated Book

I tend not to purchase books that I think are overrated (or that might turn out to be), but The Isle of the Lost and its sequel Return to The Isle of Lost by Melissa De La Cruz sort of fit the bill. Both books are written in the Disney Channel “Descendants” universe, which has been all kinds of popular lately. While the books were pleasurable to read in their own right, and they both invested in more character development than the movie ever did, it’s obvious that they were written for the younger Disney Channel crowd and not the more, ahem, discerning readers. The over-abundant use of past tense and stiff dialogue got a bit annoying after a while.

7. Most Reread Book

I just finished rereading the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling last year, and they never get old. I definitely gravitate to them when I just want to reread something that I love.

8. A Book You Haven’t Read

Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer. This one is kind of weird, considering that I read the entire Artemis Fowl series…but somehow I accidentally skipped over this book and didn’t find out until later. I got it free from a book fair/thing that my school did in 9th grade, but I still haven’t gotten around to reading it.

9. A Short Story Collection

I’ve always loved stories about animals that save people’s lives, and so I have four small short story collections that make up what I call my “Animal Heroes Collection”. These are They Too Were Heroes: True Tales of Courageous Dogs by Joanne Mattern, True Tales of Animal Heroes and The Dog Who Saved Christmas and other True Animal Tales, both by Alan Zullo, and Ten True Animal Rescues by Jeanne Betancourt.

I also love Greek mythology and I own three books that contain different Greek myths: Treasury of Greek Mythology by Donna Jo Napoli and Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods and Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes, both by Rick Riordan.

10. A Non-Fiction Book

Although I adore fiction, I love non-fiction just as much. I really enjoy learning how movies are made, so I’m especially fond of my collection of non-fiction Harry Potter books, which consists of Harry Potter: 51fwjmej6pl-_sx258_bo1204203200_The Character Vault and Harry Potter: Magical Places of the Films by Jody Revenson, Inside the Magic: The Making of Fantastic Beasts by Ian Nathan, and The Case of Beasts: Explore the Film Wizardry of Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by Mark Salisbury.

Another good non-fiction shoutout is Terry BrooksSometimes The Magic Works: Lessons From A Writing Life.

11. A Book (physical copy, not the story itself) that has an interesting story behind it 

Now, this isn’t an inspirational or touching story, but I still find it pretty funny. I had ordered Calamity (the final book in the Reckoners trilogy) by Brandon Sanderson from Barnes and Noble, and it arrived in great condition. I got to about the middle of the book before I was puzzled by how one chapter ended after only one page. I figured it was just a super short chapter, but the next one didn’t make sense with the context of the former. It wasn’t until I checked the page numbers that I realized the book was missing an entire chapter!! My parents and I had to drive to the nearest Barnes and Noble, which was 45 minutes away, just to exchange it. I didn’t blame B&N at all, though, and I was able to get the entire book.

 

I don’t have anyone to tag, so feel free to continue the tag if you wish!

Your  turn! Have you read any of the books on my list? What’s one book on your bookshelf that you think I should read? 

 

One thought on “The Bookshelf Tour Tag

  1. Pingback: CLASSIFIED: My Top Secret Advance Copy | Bookends

Leave a Reply

