The “Hamilton” Tag

I love singing and I love history, so it’s really no surprise that I adore the Broadway musical “Hamilton”. Everything about the show is amazing, from the writing to the music to the acting, and I quickly became a huge fan. I came across “The ‘Hamilton’ Tag” from the YouTuber JonasAlmostFamous, and it sounded like a fun idea. So, without further ado, let’s do this!

The Hamilton Tag

1. How did you find out about “Hamilton”?

The internet. I didn’t pay too much attention to the craze at first, although I was aware of it. I saw the libretto/behind the scenes book at the library a few weeks ago and decided to get it. While reading and listening to the soundtrack, I immediately fell in love. Now I’m obsessed. It happens.

2. Favorite character? 

How can I possibly answer this? John Laurens.

The 58th GRAMMY Awards - "Hamilton" GRAMMY Performance

SUCH A PRECIOUS CINNAMON ROLL.

3. Character you would want to play?

It would be amazing to get the chance to play any character in the musical, but I think it would be especially fun to play Lafayette and then Jefferson. It would be interesting to go from playing Lafayette, a cocky but talented soldier who jumps off desks; to the “villain”, Jefferson, who has a more jazzy musical style and a certain manipulative swagger. I also have this fascination with Samuel Seabury, so I would love to play him just so I can do Farmer Refuted with Lin-Manuel.

Lafayette-Jefferson

4. Favorite song to listen to?

Meet Me Inside.

5. Favorite song to sing along with?

I would be lying if I said that I don’t immediately start singing along to any Hamilton song I hear, but I love singing along to You’ll Be Back. DA DA DA DAT DA, DA DA DA YA DA DA…

6. Part you always mess up when you’re singing along? 

For some reason, I always forget the lines “We will fight up close / seize the moment and stay in it / it’s either that or meet the business end of a bayonet” from Yorktown. It’s so frustrating because I know like, all of the other lyrics but I mess that up every time.

7. Can you rap Guns and Ships?

I don’t have the full song memorized yet, but I’m definitely fast enough and can already do the first few lines.

8. Which cast member would you most want to meet?

Lin-Manuel Miranda is a given, but also Anthony Ramos and Daveed Diggs.

10-213333

9. Have you seen the show?

Sadly, no.

10. Have you read the book?

I’m currently reading it! 731 pages of awesome.

11. Favorite line in the show?

Hamilton’s line from Meet Me Inside: “You’re absolutely right. John should have shot him in the mouth; that would’ve shut him up”. It’s just so sassy.

0b3d207057550dbc17f4b58eeb02c60e-1000x1000x1

12. Five words to describe the show?

Ambitious. Innovative. Emotional. Inspiring. Genius.

 

I enjoyed this tag, and I want to keep it going! I tag my fellow Hamiltrash friend, Maggie from Maggie’s Musings, to do her own version of the tag when she is able.

How about you? If you do this tag, share a link in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

